addarrow-downarrow-leftarrow-rightarrow-up82CF3E98-D323-4B3E-9EDD-EF2E73FB5C9E@1xcancelClose IcondowndownloademailIcons / Social / FacebookfilterhomeIcons / Social / InstagramleftIcons / Social / LinkedIn895A4639-EEE0-4BEB-B7D1-CAB21217861B@1xMenu IconremoverightSearchtagtik-toktimeline-arrow-lefttranslateIcons / Social / TwitterupIcons / Social / YouTube

TLM International Research Committee

Warwick Britton

Professor Warwick Britton PhD

Professor of Medicine and Immunology, University of Sydney.

A clinical immunologist, since 1990 Warwick has led the Mycobacterial Research Program at the Centenary Institute in Sydney to study of host immune responses to M. tuberculosis and M. leprae, antigen discovery, mycobacterial genetics and their application to vaccine development. He has long-standing interests in the global control of tuberculosis and leprosy, and has current studies on developing new TB vaccines and drugs, active case finding to improve TB control in Vietnam and testing new biomarkers for TB disease in Vietnam and China.

He served in a rural hospital in Nepal, then completed his PhD on the immunology of leprosy after which established The Leprosy Mission's Mycobacterial Research Laboratory at Anandaban Leprosy Hospital in Kathmandu for the study of human immune responses to M.leprae

Warwick has served on the International Research Committee since 1989 and is the current Chair.

Dr Paul Saunderson PhD

Technical Advisor, American Leprosy Missions

Editor-in-Chief, Leprosy Review

Paul has been involved in leprosy work since 1981 and serves on several WHO advisory and technical committees. He is a member of the ILEP Technical Commission and the Editor-in-Chief of Leprosy Review.

His research interests include post-exposure prophylaxis for leprosy using single-dose rifampicin.

Professor Diana NJ Lockwood PhD

Emeritus Professor of Tropical Medicine, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Diana has worked as a clinical researcher, teacher, consultant leprologist, infectious disease physician, and journal editor. Her work has focused on improving the outcome of leprosy patients with nerve damage and has led an international consortium (the ENLIST group) of researchers to improve the management of leprosy patients with the leprosy complication Erythema Nodosum Leprosum (ENL/Type 2 Reaction) Read more about ENLIST here.

Diana is involved in several randomised-controlled trials of new treatment regimens for treating reactions

Diana is on the Editorial Board of Leprosy Review

Diana Lockwood
Professor Jan Hendrik Richardus

Professor Jan Hendrik Richardus

Professor of Infectious Diseases and Public Health, Erasmus MC, Rotterdam, Netherlands

Jan Hendrik Richardus served as Medical Officer for The Leprosy Mission International at McKean Rehabilitation Centre in Thailand and as the Country Director of The Leprosy Mission Bangladesh. His experience is in infectious disease control in general and leprosy in particular. Initially, he studied the epidemiology and prevention of nerve function impairment in leprosy. In recent years, his research focus has been on the prevention of leprosy through chemoprophylaxis.

He is a member of the WHO Leprosy Technical Advisory Group and the Neglected Tropical Disease Modelling Consortium

Dr Pushpendra Singh

Scientist, National Institute of Research in Tribal Health, Jabalpur, India

Pushpendra's areas of expertise include the genomics and molecular epidemiology of mycobacterial diseases (particularly TB and leprosy) and microbiology. application of genomic and transcriptomic approaches for improved understanding of pathogenesis, transmission and evolution of pathogenic microbes in human and animals.

Post-doctoral studies include:

1. Genome-wide analysis of M. leprae and M. tuberculosis strains using Next Generation Sequencing approaches.
2. Comparative genomics and phylogeography of leprosy bacilli: Development of molecular epidemiological tools for leprosy.
3. Comparative transcriptomics of leprosy: Analysis of transcriptional signature of disease stages (active/sub-clinical) and diverse clinical forms of leprosy using RNA-Seq.

Professor Pushpendra Singh