addarrow-downarrow-leftarrow-rightarrow-up82CF3E98-D323-4B3E-9EDD-EF2E73FB5C9E@1xcancelclosedowndownloademailIcons / Social / FacebookfilterhomeIcons / Social / InstagramleftIcons / Social / LinkedIn895A4639-EEE0-4BEB-B7D1-CAB21217861B@1xMenu IconremoverightSearchtagtik-toktimeline-arrow-lefttranslateIcons / Social / TwitterupIcons / Social / YouTube

Wellesley Bailey Awards 2024

The 2018 winners of the Wellesley Bailey Awards pose with their trophies

Created in 1999 to celebrate the life and work of Mr Wellesley Bailey, founder of The Leprosy Mission, these unique awards honour those who have made extraordinary contributions to society through overcoming the social stigma and physical challenges of leprosy.

The Wellesley Bailey Awards have taken place nine times since 1999. All recipients of the Award have been active members in their community for at least five years and will be champions for the rights and inclusion of people affected by leprosy.

Wellesley Bailey Awards 2024

After a pause over the pandemic, the Wellesley Bailey Awards are back for 2024! This is a particularly auspicious year for the Wellesley Bailey Awards, as 2024 marks 150 years since Wellesley Bailey founded The Leprosy Mission.

At a special gala event in New Delhi in November, two individuals will receive the Wellesley Bailey Award in recognition of their extraordinary contributions.

Key details for the 2024 awards

All nominations must reach The Leprosy Mission International Office by the 01 April 2024. Nominations will not be considered after that date. The Awards will be given to people who have not previously received international recognition for their work. No person may nominate themselves for an Award. Nominations which were not successful in previous years may be resubmitted.

Each Award includes a cash prize of £1,000, a citation giving the reasons for the Award, and a presentation plaque.

Nomination form and application guidelines

Nomination deadline: 01 April 2024

Read the information in the application guidelines and submit your nomination to